Next Step KC is governed by a community board of directors who serve without compensation.


Mario Urquilla, President
Bank of the West

Katie Elliott, Secretary
Legal Counsel, Scout Investment    

James Meyer, Treasurer
Regional Manager, FDIC - DRR, (retired)



Shaylyn Dean
Customer Solution & Community Relations Advisor, Missouri Gas Energy

Jim Graham

Adam LaBoda
Attorney, Spencer Fane Britt & Browne LLP

Jeff McCool
Vice President - Area Manager
Bank of the West

Brent Schondelmeyer
Deputy Director, Local Investment Commission

Carol Smith
Vice President Community Impact, United Way of Greater Kansas City

Jerry Venters
US Bankruptcy Judge (retired)

Paul Wenske

Donald Wise, Associate Director
Park University